[Productivity] Blender-UI

Skill name: Blender-UI

User story:

As a 3d modeler I want this Skill to have a mode so I can run blender operators (The GUIs buttons) so that I can quickly create and manipulate objects without having to remember where menus are.

What third party services, data sets or platforms will the Skill interact with?
The Blender Python API. https://docs.blender.org/api/blender2.8/

Are there similar Mycroft Skills already?

No simlar skill from what I have seen so far.

What will the user Speak to trigger the Skill?

“Help me use blender”|“Help me 3d model”
“Create a cube”
“Move the cube up 3 inchs”
“Resize the cube to be 3 inchs longer”
“What can I do with this cube?”
“Stop helping me”

What phrases will Mycroft Speak?
“Let me know what you want me to do”
*With no blender instance
“There is no blender instance up, would you like me to open it up for you?”
“You can resize, change texture, move or delete this cube, would you like to know more?”

What Skill Settings will this Skill need to store?

None I would think

Other comments?

I think there might need to an accomponing Blender plugin to proccess mycroft message bus requests (or whatever method is used)

1 Like

Cool idea!

The blender python API should make it pretty straightforward to integrate some simple things you mentioned like creating a cube.

For things like textures I could see it being possible, but would definitely be more complicated as would trying to move things around (though both seem like they could be done after a short inspection of the API).

We use Blender quite a bit and could see a skill like this being pretty useful. If we have time to knock out a proof of concept I’ll make sure to post a link to try it out in this thread.

2 Likes

Hi, @FruityWelsh. Did you ever make any progress with this? If so, how was your experience with it? Was it useful?